Melancholygeek

nothing but the rain

Memorial Day on Mars

Posted by melancholygeek on May 26, 2008

So, it’s a holiday in the States and the blogosphere comes to a halt. Why do I break the rule? Easy, while cleaning my apartment yesterday I must have done something to upset my back a little, rendering me widely unable to move. So basically what I can do is lie down (boring), stand (straight, still boring) or sit (very straight) and type. As long as no sudden movements are involved, the pain is bearable. And if I sound whiny that’s because I am! Seriously, leave some sympathy in the comments. I need that now.

In other news: We’re on Mars (again)! Yesterday, 7:53PM EST the Phoenix Mars Lander, um, landed. On Mars. Luckily without any complications. Why you ask? Let NASA answer that for you:

The complement of the Phoenix spacecraft and its scientific instruments are ideally suited to uncover clues to the geologic history and biological potential of the Martian arctic[…] and will be instrumental in achieving the four science goals of NASA’s long-term Mars Exploration Program.

-Determine whether Life ever arose on Mars
-Characterize the Climate of Mars
-Characterize the Geology of Mars
-Prepare for Human Exploration

The Phoenix Mission has two bold objectives to support these goals, which are to (1) study the history of water in the Martian arctic and (2) search for evidence of a habitable zone and assess the biological potential of the ice-soil boundary.

And while I know many people long lost interest in the space exploration program (especially unmanned) I still find this exciting. And yes, I think we should have manned missions to Mars, as well as a permanent moon base.

Why? Because we’re human, and humans do such things to bring their civilization forward. As a whole. I know few people acknowledge this, but take a look at the huge success that is the International Space Station. Mankind as a whole working together on a project that surpasses all previous achievements. Together.

I think we can use quite some more of this in (or out of) this world. And if you think otherwise, at least have a look at these pretty pictures Phoenix has taken so far.

I’m gonna sit here for a while. Very straight.

Leave a Reply

 
