Melancholygeek

nothing but the rain

Emmys, Final Cylon and Career Moves

Posted by melancholygeek on July 17, 2008

BSGEmmy nominations are out and Battlestar Galactica scored five of them, sadly not Best Actress In Drama, which is a real shame. Check the categories it out here.

Final Cylon news: Obviously the last of the bunch will be revealed sooner than later. My take: Next episode.

And now that shooting our beloved is finally over, where are the TV-careers of some of our friends headed? Let’s take a peek, shall we:

Grace Park (The Cleaner)

Is it any good?

I have no idea. First episode aired this week, but I didn’t watch it. Mainly because I could care less about Miss Park plus the title of the series gives me goosebumps.

Wise career move?

For someone of Grace Park’s class as an actress, I guess everything that gives you a minute of time on the air is a wise career move. Even commercials.

Where would I have seen her?

Commercials.

Tricia Helfer (Burn Notice)

Is it any good?

You bet! Great first season, lovely characters, neat spy-story, really funny. Check it out if you can! I kinda fell in love with it from the pilot episode on.

Wise career move?

Hell yeah! Key role in a rather well established show, best thing to happen! I see a good future for this one.

Where would I have seen her?

Pretty much something along these lines. Chuck maybe. Definitely something lighter, non-SciFi.

Callum Keith Rennie (Californication)

Is it any good?

Actually, yes. I was rather unsure after watching the pilot episode, but then again, it always kinda makes me uncomfortable seeing four sets of boobies in a half-hour episode of something I didn’t download from an obscure website. But after going through the whole season, I have to admit, I was wrong seeing it as just another series trying to push the boundaries after Sex And The City and The L-Word. Duchovny does a great job and most of the other characters are really colorful and played really, really well.

Wise career move?

Hell yeah! Recurring role in a comedic drama beats freak of the week in any given show on earth by far. Guess someone got himself a new agent? I hope it’s somewhat back to the Due South days here and that can only be good. It’s about time he shows his spectrum again by starring in something lighter, funnier without being ridiculous.

Where would I have seen him?

Victim of the week on Dexter, probably serial rapist.

Katee Sackhoff (Nip/Tuck)

Is it any good?

Meh. I did watch a couple of episodes once but it really never hooked me. Then again, I never could warm up for Grey’s Anatomy either and I could imagine they aim for the same demographic.

Wise career move?

Let’s just say, she adds another canceled series to her resume, which is never a good thing. Sackhoff expressed her reluctance for doing SciFi again, which I can understand and seeing that you don’t want to be type-casted so soon in your career, Nip/Tuck might have seemed like a wise move. Too bad.

Where would I have seen her?

Third season of Jericho, being canceled after the first episode.

Tahmoh Penikett (Dollhouse)

Is it any good?

Seeing it won’t start anytime soon, it’s hard to tell. But seeing that it’s Joss Whedon… Of course it’s gonna be good!

Wise career move?

Definitely when you’re aiming for the geek demographic. Which isn’t a bad move in itself.

Where would I have seen him?

Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles. As a Terminator of course.

Did I miss anyone? Oh, right!

3 Responses to “Emmys, Final Cylon and Career Moves”

  1. c said

    For someone of Grace Park’s class as an actress, I guess everything that gives you a minute of time on the air is a wise career move. Even commercials.

    Ha!

    plus the title of the series gives me goosebumps.

    Um. Yeah.

    Recurring role in a comedic drama beats freak of the week in any given show on earth by far. Guess someone got himself a new agent?

    Yes. And no. 🙂

    Victim of the week on Dexter, probably serial rapist.

    Mean. But true.

    Did I miss anyone? Oh, right!

    HEE!

  2. scriggle said

    Where would I have seen him?

    Victim of the week on Dexter, probably serial rapist.

    Next week you can change that to X-Files 2 where he’s playing another baddie who will undoubtedly die a horrible death. 🙂

    Did I miss anyone? Oh, right!
    *sporfle*

  3. melancholygeek said

    @C
    Yes. And no. 🙂

    Good to know. So someone’s finally doing what they’re paid for in the first place I guess.

    Mean. But true.

    See above. 🙂

    @scriggle
    Yeah, kinda looking forward to XF2, but, as you say, it’s rather predictable when it comes to his part. As stated, I’m more anxious to see him in this other role along with DD. That should be good…

Leave a Reply

 
