Melancholygeek

nothing but the rain

The Internet Is A Great Place

Posted by melancholygeek on August 6, 2008

That was my first thought when I stumbled upon this website while browsing Tanveer’s blog:

TED.com is a page hosting videos of inspired talks by the world’s greatest thinkers and doers (their words, I couldn’t have phrased it better). And as far as I could check it out by now, the assortment of talks is awesome. Two examples I’d advise to check out (to get you hooked):

Jill Bolte Taylor (picture), brain researcher, talking about her studying a massive stroke while it happened – to herself.

Johnny Chung Lee, grad student at Carnegie Mellon, giving a presentation about his famous Wiimote hacks (head- and finger tracking, digital whiteboard).

I give these examples because I saw videos of these talks before and therefore know how awesome they are. But stroll around, there’s plenty of stuff more on there.

And yes, BSG news will come up eventually, I’m just still reluctant to dig through this pile of Google Alerts that came in over the weekend. Bear with me.


Bookmark and Share

4 Responses to “The Internet Is A Great Place”

  1. Hi melancholygeek,

    I just caught this mention of my blog here on yours (guess that serves me for gleaming over your entries that don’t have “BSG” in the title). I’m glad you enjoyed this find – sadly I don’t think enough people know about TED.com and how inspiring and informative many of the talks they carry on their site are.

    If anything, it’s a great way to pass the time waiting for the remainder of BSG to resume.

    Thanks for the mention and link-up. And you’re right – with sites like TED.com, the internet is indeed a great place.

  2. Honor where honor’s due, and frankly, I should thank you for bringing this to my attention. πŸ™‚

  3. In that case, your welcome. πŸ™‚

    By the way, stopping by here to find out the latest about BSG gave me a push to write up a piece on my blog about that wonderful word “frak”. Given your obvious interest in BSG (:D), I invite you to come check it out. πŸ™‚

  4. Given your obvious interest in BSG (:D), I invite you to come check it out.

    πŸ˜€ Just did (better late than never I guess?)… and liked it very much,
    especially the part about not swearing in front of your kids.

Leave a Reply

 
