Melancholygeek

nothing but the rain

Marvel Movie Updates

Posted by melancholygeek on September 13, 2008

Long time, no updates on upcoming Marvel movies, so here’s what I’ve collected over the past weeks:

The next Spider Man movies seem to be a go, and with established personnel: Sony seems to have finally gotten Raimi’s and Maguire’s signatures under those contracts, no word on Ms. Dunst though. And it looks like, yes, there’s gonna be Spidey 4 and 5. Of course, no word on the villains as of yet, but I guess Lizard should be a given in at least one of these movies. My guess would be Lizard and perhaps Vulture in the fourth and the Sinister Six in number five. Or they really go for full Goblin mayhem and bring in the Hobgoblin? I hope not.

Speaking of Spidey-villains, Venom could be getting its own movie, and should Topher Grace decline the role, here’s some alternatives. I really don’t know whether Venom could carry a whole movie, but I’d watch it I guess…

It seems that 20th Century Fox is working on a new X-Men movie, called X-Men: First Class, which could be some sort of origin story for the Xavier School’s mutant hero team. Hopefully no reboot though, seeing that, while the third installment wasn’t exactly the greatest thing since sliced bread, I really like the set-up so far.

And, concerning the X-Men, I really thing Deadpool should get a spin-off movie, even without having seen his debut in X-Men Origins: Wolverine yet.

And could it be there’s finally some major casting done for Captain America? Well, maybe not. Not being a huge fan of Mr. Smith, I wouldn’t mind the latter.

So, who will be the villain in the upcoming Iron Man 2 movie? The Mandarin has already been kinda set up, but what about the Crimson Dynamo? Who ever it will be, it might get huge (which I could care less about)!

Speaking of Iron Man, what about his peer group, the Avengers? Are they going through with their Ultimate setting? I sure hope so!

And you won’t get me to comment on a possible Daredevil reboot.

(via Major Spoilers, io9, Den Of Geek and Topless Robot)


Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

 
