Melancholygeek

nothing but the rain

More on Marvel Movies

Posted by melancholygeek on October 25, 2008

A whole lotta time since I last posted an update on upcoming Marvel movies, and quite some things have happened on that front, so here we go:

So, we all now by now there’s an Avengers movie scheduled for 2011, and the probable line-up will be Cap, Iron Man, Thor, Ant-man, Wasp and Hulk. But on whose side will the latter be on? Obviously, Ed Norton has no clue, but rumors amount more and more, that the Hulk might be the (ultimate) villain of this play. And I could see that, so no complaints from this side. And I’m really looking forward for the animated series accompanying the movie release. Another question that arose, due to a visit at Marvel, is: Will Janet van Dyne (Wasp) be portrayed by desperate housewife Eva Longoria? Believe me, I’m no fan of hers, but she sure has the looks down. I could see that happening.

Iron Man! First and foremost, Favreau spilled quite a lot on what he wants to have in Iron Man 2 and 3, so that’s definitely worth a read. What we definitely won’t have in Iron Man 2 is Terrence Howard reprising his role as Jim Rhodes (and eventually War Machine). That doesn’t mean the character won’t appear (you couldn’t do that), but he’s been recast. And no other than Don Cheadle will take up the part. For me this is the opposite of the Longoria situation: I actually am a big fan of Cheadle’s, ever since Picket Fences and all the way through to Hotel Rwanda or Crash, but I really liked Howard as Rhodes and personally see him way more as War Machine than I can Cheadle. Well, we’ll see. In other news, we’ll probably get more Iron Man tie-ins in other Marvel movies. And check out these detailed pictures of The Suit!

No real casting news about the upcoming Thor movie, but one hell of a news piece concerning the director: Kenneth Branagh! So here I’m totally not sure what to think about it. I adore Branagh’s directing work in his takes on Shakespeare (if you don’t trust me, make sure you get to see his Much Ado About Nothing – purely awesome), but I also do remember Frankenstein, which I found to be in the best case mediocre. On the other hand, quite some major comic book movies have been done by people I wouldn’t have expected to pull it off, and they worked. I’m a little curious.

No casting or directing news on The First Avenger: Captain America that I’d be aware of, but a plot synopsis! Oh, and here’s your Cap cameo in The Incredible Hulk.

And one little tidbit non-Avengery: Will Kirsten Dunst be in Spider-Man 4 and 5? Or will there be a different leading lady? Frankly, right now, I could care less.

(mainly via Major Spoilers, io9 and Topless Robot)

Bookmark and Share

3 Responses to “More on Marvel Movies”

  1. stacy said

    Please sign the virtual petition to get Terrence Howard back in Iron Man!!

    http://www.howardnotcheadle.com/Site/IM2WM.html

    Also, check this site out:
    http://save-rhodey.com/

  2. address said

    I blog quite often and I really appreciate your content.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I’m going to bookmark your website and keep checking for new details about once per week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  3. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your magnificent post.
    Also, I have shared your website in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

 
